IT.COM

Newbies, Do not rely on Namebio sales reports!

Spaceship Spaceship
Watch

Mena

Established Member
Impact
One of the most common advice given to newbies on this forum is to go to namebio, study the sales reports and get a feel of what's selling and for what price. I don't think this is particularly great advice. If you don't know what you are doing, you could end up registering some really bad name just by using namebio sales data alone.

For example, GrassX.com just sold for 3900usd, GrassJ.com is available for hand reg, a newbie would hastily go and snatch that up. As a newbie myself, I have realized that some names just sell for reasons I don't understand.

•••
The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
What would you recommend as a better way to estimate value than comparable sales?

Last edited:
•••
What would you recommend as a better way to estimate value than comparable sales?

I won't claim to be an expert in domaining just yet, so I'm not really in a good place to give advice. But personally, I have been doing a lot of research on what makes a good domain, instead of just looking at what has sold before on namebio. I insist, it can be dangerously misleading.

theprojectgirl.com just sold for 3401usd.
theprojectboy.com is available for handreg.

•••
Is that so?

did you make a comparable report for the two suffixes?

sales of 'x':
https://namebio.com/?s==IDM1kjN4EzM

sales of 'j':
https://namebio.com/?s==EDM1kjN4EzM

on both, the length is set at higher than 4 (so as to filter out the 4L liquid sales)

Instead of saying to 'not rely' on data, just say that newbies need to learn 'how' to read data.

•••
•••
Well namebio might not have all the sales data, so one will not get to know what is selling and what is not, one can use namebio as general reference. But when you see an unusual name sold for xxxx or xx,xxx then before registering a similar domain, we should research it properly.

•••
•••