IT.COM
Spaceship Spaceship
Watch
Impact
This is a discussion about selling domains, and what you can or can not do.

In this post, I want to highlight some of what I learned from a WIPO case that we recently won. I do hope that it might help some of you. Disclaimer: I am not a lawyer, so don't take this as legal advice.

First of all, thanks for pointing out this case, @Robbie . It really is a win for domainers and reinforces that domain investing and trading is a legitimate business. And it is the first decision ever in a 2L .nl case.

If you have any questions, I'd be happy to answer.

Here we go!

Outbounding domains is not bad faith
Approaching a potential buyer is a legitimate way of doing business. People do outbound all the time in all sorts of industries. You absolutely can actively seek buyers for your domain names.

The sole fact that you approach an end-user to offer them your domain is no ground for finding bad faith. Bad faith needs to be proven based on other grounds than just the fact that you have approached a potential buyer.

The other side of outbounding your domains
This case does show the other side of outbounding your domain names. Among domainers there is a lot of talk about how outbounding domains can be the right approach to sell your domain names quicker, but you can't always predict how someone on the other side will react.

In this case, the complainant really liked and wanted the domain I offered to him, but he was not willing to pay the fair market price. So he filed (the .nl equivalent of) a UDRP in the hopes that he could get the name for free!

Difference in frame of mind
In this case, the complainant (and his lawyer, which is a shame IMHO) did not recognize that buying and selling domain names is a real business, despite numerous cases that mention and approve of domaining. Before this case, domaining had been recognized multiple times by WIPO so it was not an unknown fact.