Dynadot

Buying a personal surname domain... bargaining with owner?

Spaceship Spaceship
Watch
I'm looking to buy a short 5-letter domain that represents my first name(4-letters)+ last name initial (1-letter).

I.E. bartZ.com or daveQ.com is being sold.
(Also, in my case, bartZach.com and daveQuinn.com is not available.)

The owner of the domain is a small domain seller who is asking for $1200 for it.

I checked the detailed WHOIS on godaddy and it seems to be registered since '98 and was updated Nov. 2010... expires December 11, 2011.

I guess I shouldn't have emailed the owner my extreme interest in the domain. Now he has a reason to renew it. I'm not sure if I can pay $1200 for this domain since it isn't exactly rare in terms of domain value but it is extremely valueble to me. But I am a student and I want to use the domain as my blog and I can't afford $1200!

What should I do? Any suggestions?

Last edited:
•••
The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
He/she will renew it before December 11, 2011 so you will have to negotiate a price with the owner if you want the name. How you know there a "small domain seller" See if its for sale on some platform like sedo where you might be able to dangle a $250 carrot in front of their face.

•••
He/she will renew it before December 11, 2011 so you will have to negotiate a price with the owner if you want the name. How you know there a "small domain seller" See if its for sale on some platform like sedo where you might be able to dangle a $250 carrot in front of their face.

I mentioned that the person who sells the domain is a small domain seller because his website looks unprofessional and he has only 10 domains for sale.

He listed it on godaddy auctions for $1200. I gave him a small carrot of $200 and he's not replying to my emails now.

•••