NameSilo

Video: The Top 10 Qualities to Look For in a Domain

Spaceship Spaceship
Watch
Our 11th monthly Doma.in free training video is now up: The Top 10 Qualities to Look For in a Domain.

This list originated as 8 things geared towards end-user businesses buying a domain. That said, in in the end we as domainers should be getting domains with end-use in mind - especially now with domain parking making a tiny fraction of what it used to.

If you haven't seen our domain training videos before, I encourage you to check out the others here.

Anyone feel free to give your input - was there anything major we missed? Anything in particular you think is most important to look for in a domain?

•••
The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
I'm a Domain Newbie, thank you for this video! I'm going to watch it now. I see you're in SD, nice, I'm up in Oceanside, CA

•••
Hi Steve. Thanks for the video. I was wondering how you would get to as many as 10 qualities :) It was very informative. One thing which struck me after each quality was that it would have been very good to have quoted a good and bad example domain name for each quality. It would have helped cement the idea of that quality, imho.

•••
excellent video. I do have a question though. With all of these things to consider when buying a domain name how are we supposed to compete with people who use automated domain pick up software or groups that have several contributing members? It just seems like the individual domainer is at such a disadvantage when trying to compete with people who can evaluate domains much quicker. Also is there set times each day where the drop lists get updated?

•••