Dynadot

I'm James Iles: Q&A (Interactive Interview Session)

NameSilo
Watch
Status
Not open for further replies.
Hey NamePros! I'm James Iles, I'm the lead writer for the NamePros Blog, where I've written about 630 articles since May 2015. I also buy and sell a few domain names and I operate as a broker, working with select startups and established companies regarding domain name strategy.

Away from domains, I have also worked as a photo retoucher (of course, I own PhotoRetoucher.com!) for an established portrait photographer. In my spare time, I'm an amateur runner, doing two 24-hour events this year.

Ask me anything! Post any questions here and I'll do my best to answer them :)

•••
The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
What were the biggest sales that you brokered.
Thankd

Whilst I'm not at liberty to give the exact sales price, the biggest name that I've brokered alone, which happens to also be one of my favorites is Band(.)com, which was a 6 figure sale a couple of years ago.

•••
Hi James,
First of all, thanks for contributing to the community.

Simple Question:
What are your favorite niches to invest in?

I love one-word .COM's, but there is so much competition in this niche at the moment. Two-word .COM's are attractive brands, I always have an interest in imperative or call to action two-worders (I owned & sold StayCool.com and GrabFood.com for example).

I'm currently exploring the possibilities of other TLDs such as .IO and .CO - one-word names in these TLDs seem to be popular with funded startups as lower price alternatives to .COM.

Whilst .COM will remain king, and I would always advocate brands buying the best .COM if they are able, TLDs like .IO look to be giving some great alternatives.

Last edited:
•••