NameSilo

Keeping text from wrapping w/ CSS?

Spaceship Spaceship
Watch

ccc

Account Closed
Impact
Hi, I'm new to CSS so this is probably very basic a question.

I have IE 6.0 and when I open my favorites window (as you probably know) it doesn't drop down but opens on the left side of the screen pushing whatever web page I'm on over to the right. The problem is that to compensate, the web page that I'm building using CSS, wraps the text - moving it over to the left and down one line- when I'd rather it didn't. I'm not aware of the rule for turning off wrap. I want the text to stay on the same line when the favorites window is opened even if it won't be all seen on the screen. Here is the code with the text links I don't want to wrap:

H1 { color: white; font-size: 50px; font-family: impact }
H2 { text-indent: 30px; position: justify; left:1px; top: 1px; color: white; font-size: 20px; font-weight: bold; font-family: impact; line-height: 19px; border: 3px double yellow; }
p.first {color: yellow; font-size: 20px; font-style: italic; font-weight: bold}

-->
</STYLE></HEAD>
<BODY BGCOLOR="#000000">
<H1><a href="C:My Documentslink.html">SITENAME.COM</a></H1>
<H2><a href="link">TEXTLINK BID</a>                <a href="link">ANOTHER TEXT LINK</a>                   <a href="link">ACCESS ACCOUNT</a></H2>
<p class="first">LEARN ABOUT:</p>
</BODY>
</HTML>

H2 is the line/header that's wrapping. I tried position: absolute and position: relative. It still wants to wrap. The tutorial I read didn't explain how to stop this insideous text wrapping behavior.

I'm also using a lot of non-breaking space entities between the links in H2 and I'm wondering if there's a better way to position the links on the same line and keep them there without using non-breaking space entities. Okay, that all. Thank you.

•••
The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
Re: Keeping text from wrapping w/ CSS?

Originally posted by ccc