IT.COM

Warning: CIPTV Client. Is it a scraper or what?

Spaceship Spaceship
Watch
Impact
I've been developing one of my domain names for some time. But only since, this month, Oct 2018, has my bandwidth usage has been ballooning stratascopically. It has taken a lot of hard work and dedication to have found that a User Agent, "CIPTV Client", has hit my website. This behaves a bit like a scraper (although I'm no expert on this subject), but doesn't seem to do anything useful. It seems to be looking at only 1 URL which doesn't even resolve by itself but gets redirected to the index.php page. It only appears that all contacts look at this page only on my website. And it doesn't appear to be following the links from the index page.

As an example. I've had to ban 100 IP Addresses. Which had from individual IP Addresses up to 750,000 hits (on one IP Address) on that one page, in just a 2 week period in October. Many more IP Addresses has 100,000+ connections. Mostly the IP Addresses are Brazilian. But not all. I don't know if this User Agent originates from Brazil but it seems to be spreading. to other countries.

I just thought I'd let everybody know about this problem. Especially to look out for this User Agent. I'm not somebody who knows much about this phenomenon. If anybody has any useful comments or observations about this. I'd be happy to here from you. To improve my knowledge about this client or any others. I'd also be interested to know the best solutions for getting rid of these pesky clients. I'd also like to hear other stories about any other clients to watch out for.

Last edited:
•••
The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
Using SSL with Cloudflare by any chance to help identify & possibly stop the over-using?

•••
Using SSL with Cloudflare by any chance to help identify & possibly stop the over-using?