IT.COM

discuss Best way to find a domain worth for flipping?

Spaceship Spaceship
Watch

leon0012

Impact
I am new to domain flipping, but I am thinking of getting into the business as it seems interesting and profitable. But I would need some advice before entering this business. For example, how can I understand that a domain is worth flipping or not, how can I set the selling price, and the platforms I can use for this?

•••
The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
Hi,
You need to read & learn and it will start to come to you. It takes a while - there is no shortcut.
Domaining can be profitable, but contrary to a lot of outside opinion, for many (if not most) it's not.

Don't buy too many names while you're learning.
Welcome to np, good luck (y)

•••
You might read articles wrote by @Bob Hawkes here in namepros. They are very enlightening.
Good luck to you.

•••
Much more complex than we could ever explain in a post. It takes time to learn what sells and why. Its part art part science. Or a very expensive hobby.

Which one is up to you.

•••
Hi

the sharks love a newbie, whom they can flip onto their subscription plan.
lock your wallet.

imo....

•••
Here's a good starting place:

If a domain is at auction and has bids, then it is *likely good. That doesn't mean you might not overpay for it, or that you will ever sell it. But it does mean that other people are interested in it and willing to pay something.

I wouldn't go bidding on auctions just yet. There are at least 50 pricing indicators that make a domain good. I use about 5 myself in most domain purchases that I make. Some of those are automated appraisals (don't recommend for newbies), extensions registered, age, radio test, etc. I always do research, no impulsive buys. After years of buying and selling domains you just get a feel for what is worth investing.

You can't expect to jump in to auto auctions and make money if you don't know anything about cars.