NameSilo

strategy Domain Sales Method That Works

Spaceship Spaceship
Watch

redemo

Mug RuithTop Member
Impact
My domain sales method is called T.E.S.T. Telephone, Email, Sedo, TRANSACTION.

I really don't like to complicate things so I follow just one system that works (three sales in 2021). I have made many improvements to the formula this past year. That's a top reason why I joined the NAMEPROS to pick up tips from smart people in order to improve my domain name sales process which is only one year old and I'm still LEARNING. Tell me in comments how can I improve this process?

T.E.S.T. starts with registering a name in .com or co.uk that many businesses can use. I build (outsource) a business website and make weekly posts. After three months when there is natural traffic I include some professional looking ads to cover the registration fee. Then I register an alternative (almost always inferior) domain name after THREE months. Not before. Next I copy my business website to the inferior domain name so that it's live on both names.

The sales process begins with a cold TELEPHONE call first. My pitch is that I run a new company with the same name as the company I'm calling (but not the same CUSTOMER BASE) and we're trying to raise funds for some new equipment. We've already registered an alternative domain name and now the original name is being publicly auctioned. Are they interested in making an offer? It's going to be yes, no or maybe.

If the answer is yes telephone call is followed (ONLY if they are interested) with an agreed email providing more information about the domain name and text HYPERLINKS TO SEDO at the top and bottom of the page. There are no images in the entire email, but it has a signature with my mobile phone number, email address and office address. The Sedo page is open to offers and BIN. I'm thinking about making it just offers or just BIN but I can't decide. I wish there was a way to A/B test domain sales on Sedo.